I am going back to on-campus study, and I will be full time for the first time in two years.
I'm only doing three subjects instead of four, which is a good number for me, and as I will be living with my parents and won't have a job, I'll probably have a lot of time to get the work done.
I'm not going back until the third week of April though (I hope, trying to change my flight) so I will do the first half of the semester online from Canada.
I'm doing some really horrible sounding subjects though.
Maths and Physics, which I failed last time, don't understand at all and will probably need to hire a tutor for.
Project Management, which involves time management, not my strong area.
Professional Practices, which involves I have no idea what, I can't work out what this subject is actually about, but the unit guide says that people with good time management skills will do well.
So basically this semester I'm going to need to get really good at time management really quickly. This might be good for me, for life. I suck so much at this and it's going to be such a struggle, but at the end I might be a lot better off.
Still not looking forward to the next 4 months though!!
Monday, March 5, 2012
2 down 3 left
There are an unusually high number of people with ADD in my department at work. There are 35 of us total, so statistically there should only be 1 - 2 of us. From memory that sounds right, I'm not going to look that up or I'll get distracted and not end up finishing this post.
One I was never sure 100% about (I never asked him but there were a lot of signs) and he was the first to get fired. The next one got fired two days ago. Being late, not paying attention to details on the job, forgetting stuff. I too, have been fired for those things in the past. It sucks because you know you did them and stuff like that is so easy, so think, how could little things like that build up a cost me my job?
The first one just make too many little mistakes, the second one made a couple of big screw ups and had to be fired on principle, even though he was a good worker. A colleague on the work bus yesterday morning commented, "I don't think he was ever really paying attention." Yep.
So there are three of us left (100% sure, I have talked with them about ADD) and me and the other guy are both older and have gotten better at managing our lives and work skills. The other is the manager and pretty on to things as well.
I'm not sure what my point was, just that it's an interesting coincidence that the ADD people got fired.
One I was never sure 100% about (I never asked him but there were a lot of signs) and he was the first to get fired. The next one got fired two days ago. Being late, not paying attention to details on the job, forgetting stuff. I too, have been fired for those things in the past. It sucks because you know you did them and stuff like that is so easy, so think, how could little things like that build up a cost me my job?
The first one just make too many little mistakes, the second one made a couple of big screw ups and had to be fired on principle, even though he was a good worker. A colleague on the work bus yesterday morning commented, "I don't think he was ever really paying attention." Yep.
So there are three of us left (100% sure, I have talked with them about ADD) and me and the other guy are both older and have gotten better at managing our lives and work skills. The other is the manager and pretty on to things as well.
I'm not sure what my point was, just that it's an interesting coincidence that the ADD people got fired.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)