Sunday, March 23, 2014
Stop Press
I just got a call from the clinic.
Panic!
Turns out they are calling because there is actually an earlier appointment, in June. Would I like that instead?
Huh.
I was so relieved I almost started crying.
I thought they were calling to say sorry, we read your referral, and we don't deal with that here. It's happened before. I said that to the guy on the phone. He said no, that's not what's happening.
So ok, that's a bit better.
It's hard to go back to work after the emotional ups and downs :/
further frustrations
So I called the number on the top of my referral, and said hi, my referral was sent to you three weeks ago. Just wondering if it was received, because I haven't heard anything.
They took my name, said yes I'm in the system, how's July?
Three months away huh. I was temped to ask what about if I wanted to kill myself next week, but I thought maybe a psychiatrists office would have to take that seriously and it might not be something you joke about. Seriously though, three months?
Their initial consultation fee is also $495. Which is about $200 more than what I paid at the last place. Rural prices?
Were they ever going to call me to make an appointment?
Why is it so hard to be able to access psychiatric services? Four month wait? (Including waiting to see the GP and getting the referral sent) and hundreds of dollars? That's just nuts, no pun intended.
I feel stressed out thinking about how far away that is. And depressed.
They asked if that was ok, July, consultation fee. Well what choice do I have?
So I'm booked in. Now I just have to worry about getting to there. I have enough medication left over from previous prescriptions for a month. I will save them for when I really need it. Lately I've been working with my supervisor and I have not been able to get off task because he's sitting there telling me what to type, and the work is interesting. I have other work to do that is boring however, and I don't want to waste time trying to get started on it when I could focus better and get it done faster.
I'm a new employee and I'm being watched, I don't want to screw this up. This is my dream job and I'm terrified I won't be able to actually do it.
Ball is rolling
Ok so continuing the ‘finding a GP’ story, after waiting two weeks to be seen as a new patient (seriously, what?) I finally got to get started on getting some help.
After stressing about it all week and having dreams all night that I missed the appointment, I met my new doctor. She seems really nice actually. I got a bit choked up when I was trying to tell her why I was there, she just waited while I tried to speak. Finally got my story out, then we went through my background so that she could write the referral thoroughly and also complete my medical record on their system. I was in there ages and I don’t think I got charged extra, which was good.
I was unsure if she had dealt with ADD patients before, and tried to stress that I had had my referral sent from place to place before and didn’t want that to happen. She said it would be fine I will be able to find a Dr in the city who will take me, and went to consult with a more senior Dr to double check.
I googled a little before the appointment and the news wasn’t good, people writing on message boards that no in in town can prescribe medication, having to go to Sydney ect, so I was relieved she didn’t say anything like that.
Se referral went off. Apparently there are June appointments. Better than nothing I suppose. She said that if I don’t hear anything in a few weeks I’m to call and enquire about getting an appointment. Call? Aren’t they supposed to call me?
I just realised it’s been three weeks since my referral went and I still haven’t heard anything, so I will call them today. I was meaning to do it all last week but today I remembered to write the number down and bring it to work. Hooray for small steps.
Before I left the Dr she asked me if I was worried about starting my new job, and how it will go with my ADD.
I'm not worried, I told her. I'm terrified.
She said that I seem to be doing really well. I said that's because I try really really hard.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)